Planning Department

Planning Division Highlights & Updates

NAVY-Northrop Grumman Bethpage Plume – Fact Sheet

Downtown Hicksville Complete Streets Project - Project Website
Summer 2020 Planning Internship – State of Transportation Report

Grand Avenue, Baldwin Complete Streets Project – Project Webpage

Baldwin Downtown & Commercial Corridor Resiliency Study – Final Report

Motor Parkway Trail Program – Program Information

Sustainable Communities Planning Grant – Program Information

DRAFT 2010 Nassau County Master Plan


Nassau County Planning Commission Public Meetings (meeting agenda and other information)

New Laws, Regulations and Guidelines - Adopted by the Nassau County Planning Commission

Streamlining Municipal Zoning Referrals (GML § 239 - m) (PDF)

Municipal Zoning Referral Submission Form (PDF)

NCPC/Hofstra Land Use Training Program (9/16/13) - Municipal Zoning Referral Process Presentation (PDF)


2010 Nassau County Master Plan - Download the Draft Plan

Long Island Unified Solar Permit Initiative (LIUSPI) (PDF)

NY-CT Sustainable Communities Consortium

Community Visioning Program

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act - Transportation Stimulus Projects

Willow View Estates Subdivision SEQR


The Planning Commission's vision is to oversee the orderly growth and development of the County, seeking to balance economic growth with environmental protection and historic preservation.

The Nassau County Planning Commission is mandated by law to approve subdivision of land within the unincorporated areas of the County and offer recommendations to municipalities on zoning referrals. The Planning Department staff processes and reviews subdivision applications and zoning referrals, and makes recommendations to the Planning Commission. The Department is also charged with advising the County Executive, the County Legislature, and County departments in regard to the physical development of the County.

The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the County Executive. The County charter stipulates that all Commission members must be residents of Nassau County, and that the Commission must include at least one resident from each of the County's three towns. The charter also requires that certain interests 'environmental, business, and minority' be represented on the Commission. The term of office for Planning Commissioners is three years.


  • Leonard H. Shapiro, Chair
  • Jeffrey H. Greenfield, Vice-Chair
  • Neal Lewis, 3rd Vice-Chair
  • Ronald J. Ellerbe
  • Murray Forman
  • Denise Gold
  • Khandan Kalaty
  • Reid Sakowich
  • Lisa Warren
  • William Nimmo, Deputy Commissioner 

Planning Commission Public Hearing Information: 
In general, Planning Commission meetings are held every other week on Thursday at 1550 Franklin Avenue (Main Floor) in Mineola, NY. All meetings are open to the public. Please contact by phone: (516) 571-9600 or by fax: (516) 571-9450 with any questions regarding meeting schedules and/or agendas. For meeting information Click Here.

Any member of the public who wishes to receive the Nassau County Planning Commission Agenda in advance of a scheduled hearing can now sign up for the Planning Commission Outreach email listserv. Please click below to add your name and email address, and we will be sure to email you a copy of the Agenda prior to (generally within 7 days) each scheduled hearing.

Contact Info for Major Subdivision Referrals:
John Perrakis, Planner II

Contact Info for Minor Subdivision Referrals:
Greg Hoesl, Planner I

Contact Info for Zoning Referrals:
Martin Katz, Planner III

The Nassau County Planning Department is comprised of two divisions: