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Executive Summary

The Office of the Nassau County Comptroller (Office) is authorized to monitor, investigate, and
audit compliance with the Nassau County Living Wage Law.

The Office is responsible for submitting an Annual Report to the County Executive and the
County Legislature which summarizes and assesses the implementation of and compliance with
the Law during the preceding year. This report covers calendar year 2022.

The Nassau County Living Wage Law (Law) was enacted in 2006, taking effect January 2007.
The Law establishes a minimum hourly Living Wage and a Benefits Supplement to be paid to
covered workers who are not provided health benefits. The Law also establishes a minimum
number of paid days off that must be granted to employees each year.

Covered workers are employees who work for businesses doing work with or for Nassau County
under service contracts of $25,000 or more per year. Also covered are workers who are employed
at an establishment that operates under a lease, concession agreement, or other agreement on
property owned or controlled by the County. Covered workers have received increases in their
hourly wages in each year following the establishment of the Law because the Law requires
increases to the Living Wage rate each year. Increases are based on changes to the Consumer Price
Index with a maximum increase or cap of 3.5%.

On August 1, 2022, the hourly Living Wage rate increased to $15.73. The Benefits Supplement
that must be paid to covered workers who do not receive health benefits increased to $2.53, for a
total rate of $18.26 if health benefits are not provided.

The Office also conducts audits and monitors providers who do business with Nassau County to
ensure compliance with the Law. Since 2007, the Comptroller’s Office has released 50 Living
Wage audit reports, which have identified 2,118 instances of Living Wage Law underpayments
totaling $1,494,223.

In 2022, an audit was conducted of Broken But Not Destroyed, a non-profit emergency shelter.
See page 4 for details.
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Living Wage Rates and Benefit Supplement

The Living Wage rate is adjusted on August 1% of each year based on changes to the Consumer
Price Index (CPI). The increase is a percentage equal to the change in the New York Metropolitan
Area All Urban Index (NY-Consumer Price Index) for the period of June of the preceding year to
June of the current year, with a cap of 3.5%. The Benefit Supplement may also increase based
upon the CPI for medical care in the New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island metropolitan
area (the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ-PA rate).

On August 1, 2022, the hourly Living Wage rate increased to $15.73. The Benefits Supplement
increased to $2.53, for a total rate of $18.26 for covered workers who do not receive health
benefits. These rates stay in effect until July 31, 2023.

The Law requires that full-time employees of covered contractors receive 12 compensated days
off per year for sick leave, vacation, or personal reasons. Paid holidays may be counted toward
this requirement. Part-time employees who work at least 20 hours per week also must be granted
paid days off in proportion to the number of hours they work.

Employers may seek a waiver from the requirements of the Law based upon specific financial
criteria concerning their organization.

The chart below shows the Living Wage rates and Benefit Supplements since the law was
established.

Living Wage Rate and Health Benefit Supplement

Effective Dates Living Wage  Health Benefit  Total with Health

Rate Supple ment Benefit Supplement
January 1, 2007 to July 31, 2008 $9.50 $1.50 $11.00
August 1, 2008 to July 31, 2009 $10.50 $1.55 $12.05
August 1, 2009 to July 31, 2010 $11.50 $1.60 $13.10
August 1, 2010 to July 31, 2011 $12.50 $1.66 $14.16
August 1, 2011 to July 31, 2012 $12.90 $1.71 $14.61
August 1, 2012 to July 31, 2013 $13.11 $1.80 $14.91
August 1, 2013 to July 31, 2014 $13.35 $1.86 $15.21
August 1, 2014 to July 31, 2015 $13.58 $1.92 $15.50
August 1, 2015 to July 31, 2016 $13.59 $1.95 $15.54
August 1, 2016 to July 31, 2017 $13.73 $2.05 $15.78
August 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018 $13.98 $2.09 $16.07
August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019 $14.27 $2.14 $16.41
August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2020 $14.51 $2.25 $16.76
August 1, 2020 to July 31, 2021 $14.69 $2.37 $17.06
August 1, 2021 to July 31, 2022 $15.20 $2.37 $17.57
August 1, 2022 to July 31, 2023 $15.73 $2.53 $18.26
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Application of the Law

The Law applies to the following types of County contracts, County subcontractors, contractors who
receive financial assistance from the County, and contracts with Nassau Community College:

o service contracts of $25,000 or more;

o grant, loan, tax incentive or abatement, bond financing, and County subsidy or other form
of assistance of more than $50,000 and where the contractor has at least 10 employees;
and

o leases of property owned or controlled by the County.
The Law does not apply to contracts:
o for childcare services, pre-school services and early intervention services;
o for services which are incidental to the delivery of products, equipment or commodities; or

o contracts awarded under emergency procurement procedures or inter-governmental
agreements.

The Law does not apply to employees who are:
o under 18 years of age and are claimed as dependents;
o employed as after-school or summer employees;
o students interns or workers of any age;

o employed as trainees in a bona fide training program where the training program has the
goal for the employee to advance to a permanent position;

o disabled and covered by or meet the requirement for a United States Department of Labor
sub-minimum wage certificate; or

o covered by a bona fide collective bargaining agreement which expressly waives the
requirements of the Law.

Living Wage Law Rules

The County Executive has promulgated rules to address procedures governing the Living Wage
Law and to clarify certain terms, such as the terms that apply to requests for waivers and the
procedures for an employer to request a waiver from the requirements of the Law.

The Comptroller has promulgated rules related to monitoring and enforcement. The primary
purpose of these rules is to outline the responsibilities of covered employers, such as record
keeping, and to prescribe the method for evaluating an organization’s finances for consideration
of waiver requests.

These rules were last amended in December 2021 to create a process for the County to seek a
prompt remedy for alleged violations (see Appendix B). These rules enabled the County to notify
an employer of complaints without the need for an audit. The employer is given the opportunity to
respond and remedy if necessary. Using this approach, rather than awaiting the results of an audit,
employees who believe there is a violation of the law or who were underpaid, can get a timely
response to their complaint and may be compensated sooner if a violation occurred.
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Monitoring and Enforcement

Complaints

The Nassau County Comptroller’s Office receives inquiries and complaints concerning violations
of the Law through the Living Wage hotline and an online complaint form.

The Office has seen a decline in inquiries and complaints. This decrease has corresponded with
changes to the New York State (NYS) Minimum Wage, which has brought closer parity between
Minimum Wage and the Living Wage.

When the Living Wage Law went into effect in 2007, it was set at $9.50/hour (or $11.00 for
workers who did not receive health benefits), while the NYS Minimum Wage was $7.15 — a
difference of 27%. In 2022, NYS’s Minimum Wage was up to $15.00, much closer to the Living
Wage of $15.73 (or $18.26 for workers who did not receive health benefits). See chart below.

Nassau County Living Wage vs. Minimum Wage

$20.00
$18.00
$16.00
$14.00
$12.00
$10.00
$8.00
$6.00
$4.00
$2.00

2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022
® Minimum Wage §7.15 | $7.15 | $7.25 | $7.25 | $7.25 | $7.25 | $8.00 | $8.75 | $9.00 |$10.00|511.00 {$12.00|$13.00 {$14.00 $15.00|$15.00
u Living Wage $9.50 ($10.50{§11.50|$12.50|$12.90|$13.11 |$13.35|$13.58| $13.59|§13.73 | $13.98$14.27| $14.51| §14.69| §15.20 {$15.73
# Living Wage w/ Supplement | $11.00$12.05|$13.10|$14.16|$14.61 | $14.91|$15.21 | $15.50| §15.54| $15.78 | $16.07| $16.41 | $16.76 | $17.06 | $17.57 | $18.26

In 2022, the Office answered eight Living Wage law inquiries received through the Living Wage
hotline. None of these inquiries concerned complaints of underpayment of the Living Wage. In
2022, the Office did not receive any online complaint forms.
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Audits

The Nassau County Comptroller’s Office has the authority to monitor, investigate and audit
compliance with the Law.

Since the establishment of the Law, audits by the Comptroller’s Office have identified 2,118
instances of shortfalls in payments of either wages or compensated time off, amounting to
$1,494,223 in underpayments to employees.

EMPLOYEE UNDERPAYMENTS IDENTIFIED
Audit Instances Dollar Value

Years
2008 to Unpaid Compensated Total Non- Unpaid Compensated Total Non-
2022 Wages Time Off Compliance Wages Time Off Compliance

Total | 981 1137 2,118 $1.076.138 $418.085 $1.494,223
Data for each year between 2008 and 2022 can be found in Appendix A.

In 2022, an audit was conducted of Broken But Not Destroyed (BBND), a non-profit emergency
shelter provider.

The audit revealed that BBND did not:
o maintain adequate payroll records as required by the U.S. Department of Labor;

have verifiable payroll records;

accurately report wages to taxing authorities; and

have records to support that all employees were paid the Living Wage rate and granted the
appropriate amount of compensated leave.

BBND did not provide complete payroll records, but of the five employees for which an hourly
rate appeared on payroll records provided, there were four instances where the rate was below the
Living Wage rate and the amount underpaid totaled $311.

The audit also found a lack of internal controls for BBND’s use of County payments, including:

o personal expenses of the owner and Executive Director were paid with shelter funds (credit
cards payment, mortgage payment, meals expenses) and County funds paid were diverted
to a foreign corporation;

o BBND failed to maintain documentation to support the basis for most of the payments
reviewed; and

o for several payments, BBND could not show that money was placed in their account(s).
Auditors recommended that:

o BBND should maintain complete and accurate time and payroll records, properly report wages
to the IRS and make all records available for inspection by the County.

o BBND should implement cash controls and use government funding exclusively for the shelter
following Federal Regulations.

As of January 1, 2023, the County discontinued its use of this shelter, as there were several areas
of concern.
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Waivers

County contractors may request from the County Executive a waiver from the requirements of the
Law based on criteria set forth in the Law. A contractor granted a waiver is not required to pay its
employees the Living Wage rate or Benefit Supplement.
Waivers, if granted, are for a maximum period of one year;

Living Wage Waiver

contractors must reapply annually. Activity
There are several criteria that can be used by contractors to
receive a waiver. The two most common are based on the Granted Granted
organization’s finances. A contractor may be approved for a Full Partial
waiver if? 2007 5 0
1. The highest paid officer or employee of the contractor 2008 5 0
earns a salary which, when calculated on an hourly basis, 2009 6 0
is less than six times the lowest wage or salary paid by the 2010 2 0
contractor. Fringe benefits are taken into account for this 2011 2 0
wage computation. The Law authorizes the Comptroller’s 2012 11 0
Office to determine the method of valuing the fringe 2013 - 3
benefits, which currently include items such as bonuses,
stock options, educational assistance, and housing costs 2014 12 0
PHORS, ’ 8COSB- 015 11 0
2. Compliapce witl} the requirements of the Liviqg Wage 2016 10 0
Law will directly increase the requesting organization’s
. 2017 8 2
expected total annual budget in an amount greater than ten 5018 P >
percent of its prior fiscal year’s budget.

) , ] 2019 8 2
Since the establishment of the Law, the number of waivers 2020 5 0
granted ranged from a high of 12 in 2014 to a low of 2 in 2022.

. 2021 3 0
See chart to the right.
2022 2 0
Resources

The Comptroller’s Office provides a variety of resources for information and complaints
concerning the Law.

o The Office of the Comptroller’s multilingual Living Wage hotline (516) 571-WAGE
connects callers directly with staff in the Comptroller’s Office to make inquires and
complaints.

o Living Wage posters are produced in English and Spanish. The posters explain the Law in
simple format, listing the current Living Wage rates, the employee’s right to compensated
days off, and the Living Wage Hotline and email address (See Appendix C for 2022 Living
Wage posters in English and Spanish). These posters are distributed by electronic mail to
County Departments with covered contractors and Living Wage Law covered employers.
Covered employers are required to post them at their work sites.
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The Comptroller’s Office Living Wage website (www.nassaucountyny.gov/livingwage)
contains information about the Law, including:

the complete Living Wage Law;

definitions of a covered employee;

the Living Wage Rules of the County Executive and the Comptroller;
the current Living Wage rates;

Living Wage posters in English and Spanish;

Complaint Forms for reporting instances of non-compliance;

Living Wage Law annual reports;

all Living Wage audit reports; and

links to Living Wage Compensation Ratio Forms.
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APPENDIX A — Summary of Employee Underpayments Identified 2008-2022

APPENDIX A — Summary of Employee Underpayments Identified 2008 — 2022

EMPLOYEE UNDERPAYMENTS IDENTIFIED

Instances Dollar Value

Unpaid Compensated Total Non- Unpaid Compensated Total Non-

Wages Time Off Compliance Wages Time Off Compliance
2008 135 175 310 $76,173 $61,424 $137,597
2009 225 335 560 $166,639 $115,723 $282,362
2010 20 121 141 $3,645 $10,513 $14,158
2011 18 83 101 $3,616 $5,119 $8,735
2012 100 0 100 $8,039 $0 $8,039
2013 68 0 68 $135,652 $0 $135,652
2014 15 0 15 $16,735 $0 $16,735
2015 51 22 73 $466,582 $8,112 $474,694
2016 30 7 37 $10,398 $889 $11,287
2017 15 23 38 $46,631 $3,115 $49,746
2018 165 152 317 $100,167 $123,073 $223,240
2019 35 68 103 $31,990 $24,497 $56,487
2020 99 130 229 $8,296 $53,799 $62,095
2021 1 21 22 $1,264 $11,821 $13,085
2022 4 0 4 $311 $0 $311
Total 981 1137 2.118 $1.076.138 $418.085 $1.494.223
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APPENDIX B — Rules Amended December 2021

APPENDIX B — Rules Amended December 2021

Changes to Section 9. Enforcement:

a. Procedure for settlement of violations and issuance of fines pursuant to Living Wage Law § 7.

1. Where the Comptroller’s Office has made findings that an “employer,” as defined under section
2 of the Living Wage Law, that contracts with the County has violated the Living Wage Law, the
Comptroller’s Office shall refer a report of their findings to the relevant contracting department
and the County Attorney’s Office.

2. If the contracting department and County Attorney’s office find that the report demonstrates a
violation of the Living Wage Law, such contracting department shall direct the County Attorney’s
Office to issue a notice of violation to the employer, notifying the employer that if the employer
fails to cure the violation within 30 days, the County may pursue any rights or remedies available
pursuant to Living Wage Law § 7(d)(i)-(iii) and (v). If the breach is not cured or a resolution is not
negotiated within 30 days, the contracting department may request the County Attorney’s Office
to initiate action pursuant to Living Wage Law § 7(d)(i)-(ii1) and (v).

3. Such contracting department shall also direct the County Attorney’s Office, on behalf of the
County, to issue the employer a separate Notice of Violation pursuant to Living Wage Law §
7(d)(iv). The Notice of Violation shall indicate that as of the date the Notice of Violation is
received, the employer will be fined in the amount of $500 each week for each employee found
not to have been paid in accordance with the Living Wage Law. The Notice of Violation will also
indicate that such fines will be rescinded if the employer cures the violation within 30 days of the
issuance of the Notice of Violation. The Notice of Violation will also specify a hearing date for
such violations, to be held no sooner than 30 days from the issuance of the Notice of Violation.
Such Notice of Violation shall be sent by email and certified mail.

1. The hearing for the Notice of Violation will be held before a Department of Consumer
Affairs hearing officer. The subject employer may submit a written opposition refuting the
fine by email to the hearing officer and County Attorney’s Office no later than 10 days
prior to the hearing date, and the County Attorney’s Office may submit a written reply to
the hearing officer no later than 1 day prior to the hearing date. The hearing officer has
discretion to grant adjournments of the hearing date and/or the briefing schedule, upon
request by a party. The parties may consent to adjournments or extensions.

ii. The parties may negotiate a settlement regarding fines issued without requiring the
consent of the hearing officer and must notify the hearing officer of any such settlement.

iii. The employer and/or the employer’s legal counsel appear at the hearing, and, where
permitted at the discretion of the hearing officer, other relevant parties that can offer
evidence or explanation on behalf of the employer may appear. The hearing officer keeps
the record of the hearing. The violation is presented by the County Attorney’s office. The
County Attorney’s office may call upon a member of the Comptroller’s Office to offer
evidence or explanation. After the presentation of the County Attorney’s Office, the
employer may then offer evidence to refute or mitigate the facts presented. The County
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APPENDIX B — Rules Amended December 2021

Attorney’s Office also explains why a violation was issued and the legal basis of the
violation.

iv. At the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing officer weighs the evidence and credibility
of the arguments and will issue a report and recommendation to the Commissioner of
Consumer Affairs, as the designee of the County Executive, and will send a copy to the
employer and the County Attorney’s Office, regarding whether a violation has occurred,
and whether to assess a fine, and if so, the amount of the fine, in accordance with Living
Wage Law § 7(d)(iv).

v. The report and recommendation of the hearing officer may be appealed by the employer
to the Commissioner of Consumer Affairs, a copy of which shall be provided by the
employer to the County Attorney’s Office, within 14 days of receipt of the report and
recommendation. The County Attorney’s Office may submit a response to the appeal
within 7 days of receipt of such appeal. The Commissioner will then issue a final
determination to accept or reject the report and recommendation, in whole or in part.

vi. Fines shall be paid to the County Treasurer’s Office within 30 days of the
Commissioner’s determination, regardless of whether a CPLR Article 78 petition
challenging the determination has been filed.

vii. Once the 30-day cure period after issuance of a violation has elapsed, the County
Attorney’s Office is stayed from issuing additional fines related to the alleged violation
until a final determination has been issued by the Commissioner of the Department of
Consumer Affairs regarding such alleged violation.

b. Referral to Contracting Department. In addition to any other authority the Comptroller has to
monitor, investigate, and audit employers that contract with the County under the Living Wage
Law, where the Comptroller receives a complaint alleging a violation of the Living Wage Law,
the Comptroller may forward the complaint to the relevant contracting department, and advise the
department to contact such employer to request that the employer provide an explanation in writing
regarding the complaint.
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APPENDIX C - 2022 Living Wage Posters — English and Spanish

Office of the Nassau County Comptroller

Living Wage

NOTICE FOR WORKERS

The Nassau County Living Wage
$15.73 per hour

The Health Benefit Supplement
1s
$2.53 per hour
(Rate Effective August 1, 2022 through July 31, 2023)

If an employer does not provide health benefits to
employees, the total rate will be $18.26 per hour.

*Employees who work 20 hours or more per week are entitled to receive paid days
off including paid holidays (days off are earned based on hours worked).

If you work for a County contractor or lessee, the Living Wage Law may apply to you. If you
have any questions about your eligibility, or if you believe your employer 1s not complying with
the Law, please contact:

Office of the Nassau County Comptroller
LIVING WAGE HOTLINE at (516) S71-WAGE (9243)

You may also visit our website at www.
for more information, or to obtam a complamt form

*Complaints will remain confidential*
or contact us by e-mail at complivingwage@nassaucountyny.gov

Please Note that the Living Wage Law DOES NOT apply to the following.

- Contracts for child-care services, sleep away camp services for the disabled. pre-school and/or early
intervention services.

- Contracts in which services are incidental to the delivery of products, equipment or commodities.

- Inter-governmental contracts and financial assistance contracts for industrial development bonds,
community development block grant loans and enterprise-zone incentives.

re Contracts for less than $25.000.

> Employees under 18 years of age who are claimed as dependents for federal tax purposes and who are
working as an after-school or summer employee.

- Trainees in a bona fide training program.

> Disabled employees covered by a current sub-minimum wage certificate issued to the employer by the

United States Department of Labor or if he/she would be covered by such a certificate but for the fact
that the employer is paying a wage equal to or higher than the minimum wage.

> Student interns working for Nassau County and student workers at Nassau Community College.

- Medicaid funded assisted living program facilities that were providing services within Nassau County
prior to 2006 and that continue to provide such services.
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APPENDIX C - 2022 Living Wage Posters — English and Spanish

Oficina del Contralor del condado de Nassau

Salarios dignos

AVISO PARA LOS TRABAJADORES

El salario digno del condado de Nassau

$15.73 por hora

El Complemento de beneficios de salud
€S

$2.53 por hora

(Tarifa efectiva del 1 de agosto de 2022 al 31 de julio de 2023)

S1 un empleador no da beneficios de salud a los
empleados, la tarifa total sera de $18.26 por hora.

*Los empleados que trabajan 20 horas o mas por semana tienen derecho a recibir dias
libres pagados, incluyendo dias festivos pagados (los dias libres se ganan en funcion de
las horas trabajadas).

S1 trabaja para un contratista o arrendatario del condado, es posible que se le aplique la Ley de
salario digno. Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre su elegibilidad, o si cree que su empleador no esta
cumpliendo con la Ley, comuniquese con:

] Oficina del Contralor del condado de Nassau
LINEA DIRECTA DE SALARIOS DIGNOS al (516) S71-WAGE (9243)

Visite nuestro sitio web en: www.nassaucountynv.gov/LivingWage
para obtener mas informacion o un formulario de queja
*Las quejas seran confidenciales*

0 comuniquese con nosotros por correo electréonico a complivingwage@nassaucountyny.gov

Tenga en cuenta que la Ley de salario digno NO se aplica a lo siguiente.

Ve Contratos de servicios de cuidado infantil, servicios de campamento para dormir filera para personas con
discapacidad, servicios de preescolar o intervencién temprana.

Ve Contratos en los que los servicios son no esenciales a la entrega de productos, equipos o mercancias.

Ve Contratos intergubemamentales y contratos de asistencia financiera para bonos de desarrollo industrial, préstamos
de subvencion en bloque para desarrollo de la comunidad e incentivos de zona comercial.

> Contratos por menos de $25,000.

Ve Empleados menores de 18 afios que se declaran personas dependientes para propésitos de impuestos federales y que
trabajan como empleados después de la escuela o durante el verano.

Ve Aprendices en un programa de capacitacién legales.

> Empleados con discapacidad cubiertos por un certificado de salario mas bajo que el minimo actual emitido al
empleador por el United States Department of Labor (Departamento de Trabajo de los Estados Unidos) o si ellos
estan cubiertos por dicho certificado, pero por el hecho de que el empleador esti pagando un salario igual o superior
al salario minimo.

> Estudiantes residentes que trabajan para el condado de Nassau y estudiantes que trabajan en Nassau
Community College.

Ve Centros del programa de residencia asistida financiados por Medicaid que daban servicios dentro del condado de
Nassau antes de 2006 v que contintan prestando dichos servicios.
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